Hard-Boiled Eggs in the Oven: IT WORKS!

I know this is starting to look an awful lot like a food blog, but I just have to post this really quickly.  I promise we’ll get some other non-food posts up soon.

A bit of personal history:

I spent 3 months living & studying in Germany in the Summer of 2005.  It was definitely one of the greatest experiences in my life, and I think about it at least a couple of times a week, every week.  Something is always reminding me of my time there.  As a vegetarian in a country where the traditional food culture is centered a great deal around meats, I certainly “missed out” on a lot of food experiences that my fellow student travelers enjoyed, but I have no complaints at all.  Though I was eating mostly bread, cheese, tangy veggies, eggs, chocolate, fresh fruit, and beer(!), I somehow managed to lose weight on that trip which surprises me to this day.  Bread, butter, cheese, repeat.  Over & over.  My best guess is that the combination of fresh, not-so-processed ingredients and all the walking I did just ended up being fewer calories than what my body was used to.  But really, it still baffles me.  I mean, Kaffee und Kuchen!  I digress.

The point is, my brother and I spent 6 weeks living and working in Weimar in this lovely guest house.  And it was there that I first saw “hard-boiled eggs” prepared in an oven.  Hard & soft-boiled eggs are a staple in the German diet (at least in the state of Thuringia), and when there were lots of guests to feed, the amazing women who ran the former artist villa would prepare ooooodles of eggs in the oven.  I had never seen this before, and until recently when I ran across it again on pinterest, I had forgotten about it.

Riding on the coat tails of my rush of productivity after canning yesterday, I decided to try it out.  And guess what?  It’s awesome.

Here’s what you need:

  • A dozen (or more!) eggs
  • An oven, preheated to 325-350, depending on  your oven
  • Some sort of baking tray/pan.  I used a standard dozen cupcake tin.
  • A large bowl of ice water
  • A container with a lid

And it’s as simple as this:

1. Place your eggs on your tray.  I covered mine in tin foil because umm well, it’s a little rusty and I didn’t want you to see that, but now I’ve told you.  You definitely don’t have to waste the foil if you take better care of your baking equipment than I do.

Using a cupcake or muffin tin just prevents the eggs from rolling around, but I’m pretty sure you could just place the eggs right on the rack or in a pan for the same results.

2. Place in oven once it’s fully preheated.

3. Go do something else for 25-30 minutes!  And don’t worry!

4.Take out your eggies.  They will have little brown speckles on them.  This is normal.

 5. Plunge eggs into the ice water bath with tongs and let cool for a bit.  I guess 10 minutes is the suggested time, but I did less and it was fine.

6. Peel your perfect little eggs, and store in a closed container in the fridge for easy access!

PERFECT.

I used a plastic freezer storage container to keep the rest of the eggs in the fridge. (Please excuse the blurry photo.)

This method of “hard boiling” eggs is awesome.  Yes, it technically takes longer than boiling them in water on the stove top.  But.  I always break at least one egg in that stupid boiling water.  I never know how long to keep them in there, or if it’s better to keep the water boiling or cover the pot and let the eggs simmer.  And they are always such a pain in the butt to peel which leaves me with ugly, gouged eggs. 

So this method definitely wins for our house.  Perfect eggs every time, no fussing with boiling water, easy peeling, and wonderful for making a bunch of eggs at once.  I think we’ll do this once a week or so, as Lanny loves hard-boiled eggs as a quick & easy protein-filled snack, and having a container of them ready in the fridge makes it really easy to bulk up sandwiches, wraps, rice dishes, and basically everything we make.  I’m not a huge fan of eggs in general (and yolks in particular), but especially right now when we’re trying to cut back on our intake of processed soy products, this is a great easy access go-to to have in the fridge.  Officially recommended.

Post by Amanda

5 thoughts on “Hard-Boiled Eggs in the Oven: IT WORKS!

  1. Good to know! I’ll have to try it out sometime. I had never heard of this before.

    A trick to prevent eggs from cracking when boiling on the stove top, if you ever want to try it again: add some salt to the water. Aside from preventing the cracking by balancing the osmotic pressure on both sides of the shell – whoa, the nerd comes out! – it also makes the water boil hotter, which cooks the eggs faster. 10-13 minutes usually does it 🙂

  2. Thanks, Jen! I’ll keep that in mind if I ever just need a few eggs and opt for the stove top method instead. And I love learning about the science! 🙂

  3. Tina– it’s definitely worth a try! I like using the oven whenever possible. It just feels easier to me. Thanks for the comment– your blog is delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

